Print This Page Email This Page

Strategic Partners


The Higher Education Loans Board has partnered with the banks for loans recovery. Loanees can therefore make payments by depositing cash to HELB collection account in the following banks: Citibank, Cooperative, Barclays, Kenya Commercial Bank, Standard Chartered bank and Equity.

Ministry of State for Immigration and Registration of Persons

In order to enhance the recovery of HELB loan as well as enhance equity in loan disbursement, the Board has partnered with the Ministry to get access to its database on the basis of a query sent by HELB through the web services, portal access, short message service (sms), batch or E-mail verification. Such access shall be for purposes of verifying, validating and ascertaining the integrity of particulars provided to Board by their customers presenting themselves for services offered. The particulars may be based on the textual data on national ID’s, Alien ID’s, Passports, but they may also include biometrics of the individuals, name, date of birth, national identity card number, personal identification number, passport number, driving license number, past and current addresses, and other contact details and related matters as may be available in the National Population Register from time to time.

National Social Security Fund

The Higher Education Loans Board [HELB] has partnered with the National Social Security Fund [NSSF] to support loan repayment compliance. Other areas of collaboration include data access, experience sharing, corporate social responsibility and product development, among others. The two institutions signed a Memorandum of Understanding to this effect at the NSSF headquarters in Nairobi. Through this collaboration, the Board will be able to access NSSF data to help it collect key information necessary to linkage with past HELB loanees. To this end, HELB is already collaborating with the Kenya Revenue Authority, National Hospital Insurance Fund, Retirement Benefits Authority, Central Bank Kenya, SASRA, Capital Markets Authority and Credit Reference Bureaus.